IELTS Task 2: Many citizens argue that using the electronic media has a drawback to relationships

The use of electronic has a negative effect on personal relationship between people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many citizens argue that using the electronic media has a drawback to personal relationships among them. Actually, this matter can be surmounted by people because the effect of the electronic media to the personal relationship depend on its users so that it should not be worried. In addition, the electronic media have benefit to strengthen relationship among the citizens such as they easily communicate with their family.

One of the drawbacks to using the electronic media is that personal relationship among citizens will be more distant. The citizens feel more pleasure to communicate to their family and friends with using the electronic media such as a smartphone so that they rarely meet up directly and their familiarity will wane. Based on recent research in Technology University of Malaysia, intensity of gathering affects their friendship. If the citizens are more enjoyable to use it than gathering with their friend, their friendliness or familiarity will become more distant.

However, the effect of the electronic give benefits to the personal relationships and should not be worried by them. The electronic media can strengthen the relationship among the citizens because the citizens can always keep in touch with their family or friends. To illustrate, a husband who has job abroad can always communicate to his family with using the smartphone, and he can also monitor growth of his children. Likewise, the effect to personal relationship is unimportant to be worried since it depends on the users. For example, the user of the electric media restricts to use it when gather with family or friends so that their gathering has a good quality and can strengthen their relationship.

All in all, the effect of the electric media to the personal relationship among the citizens is not a problem which should be worried. In addition, the electric media give the benefit because it can strengthen the relationship among the citizens. As the smart users, the citizens should use it as restrict to help their activities.