Creativity has always played a big role in humans' development history.

Is creativity needed more than ever today?

Creativity has always played a big role in humans' development history. Thanks for creativity, people have had various accomplishments in science, society and art. Nowadays, it is not a hyperbole to say that creativity is the key role for survival in the modern society. The reasons are the increasing population, globalization and quantity issue of 21st century.

The population of 21st century is one of main factors that lead to the necessity of creativity in the modern society. For medical advancements, 21st century has seen the highest rate of population in history while the number of jobs has still been limited. Life improvements have also offered people more opportunities to study at universities and professional schools. Therefore, if recruiting employees is only based on qualifications and experience, then the number of potential candidates will be beyond limitation. Employers, thus, look for other peculiarities of their candidates, one of which is creativity - the ability to come up with good ideas that benefit businesses. Unlike before when creativity might be an option, in 21st century, creativity has been a requirement for success in competitive working places.

Not only population but also globalization increases the competition of employment nowadays. Before people only competed against others from the same country and areas; but now as global citizens, they have rivalries from all around the world. For example, Vietnam economy of 1990s saw a combat among trades, but in the 21st century, especially when Vietnam participated in WTO, Vietnamese investors and workers had to compete against foreign companies investing in the country. Hence, in order to attract consumers, Vietnamese workers have to change themselves and made impressions or in the other ways, people are under compulsion to be creative. If they could not think of new ideas, then there is likelihood that they would be oblivious and bankrupted. It is not only true to Vietnam but it adapts to most countries in the world. Indeed, competition in 21st century is not about quantity and speed but creativity. You have new and good ideas - you have a chance of success.

Besides, the dearth of products also contributes to the necessity for creativity in the modern word. When seeing so many products in front of them, consumers become more cautious and more demanding. They not only need a high quality product but a new and intriguing one. The drama "Dae Jang Geum" is one of best examples to illustrate how creativity determines success nowadays. "Dae Jang Geum" was released in 2004 when Korean drama industries are dominated by love classics which mostly focus on couples with sad endings such as death, diseases and separation. Differently from them, "Dae jange Geum" depicts the old Korean hundred years ago by following the story of an assiduous and determined Korean woman. Viewers at that time who were cloyed by old-styled dramas immediate took interest in the new theme; subsequently, "Dae Jang Geum" became a big hit and also commenced a new trend of Korean dramas later. "Dae Jang Geum's success stems from its producers' creativity when they decided to make a drama in a new way instead of following traditional ones. It verified that in the modern society when technology allows the blooming of quantity, the only way to be outstanding and intriguing is to be creative since our century is a time of rapid alteration and novelty.

To sum up, creativity is very necessary nowadays, especially for those who would like to be successful. It is never bad to be creative as the world has always welcomed new ideas to change

for the better.