Critical judgment of work from experts has little value - GRE

108. Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

the opinions of others is important

[My article]

The importance of critical judgement has been laid more and more emphasis by the public. Not only do we have to treat others' work with a dubious point of view, but we should also spare no effort to check the evidence and assumptions behind it. I agree insofar as that the judgement often considered valuable when it comes from experts in given fields. Nonetheless, those from ordinary people are also worthy of attention.

There is an old saying goes that when we use copper as a mirror, we can see ourselves clearly , when regarding people as a mirror, on the other hand, we are able to discover the advantages and disadvantages that we normally neglected. Accordingly, when a work is done, critical judgement from others is required to help us find out our defects as well as acquiring what we are good at.

Experts are the ones who have been digging in the field for several years, and they often see things in different ways from pedestrian people. For example, when we practice writing issues and arguments of GRE, it is always our teachers that we seek for help , rather than our classmates. The reason lies in that we believe the teachers' experience can do benefit to us, while it is of less possibility that our classmates can help.

However, is this absolutely true under all circumstances? In my opinion, it's not always the case. People with less experience might provide unique point of view, which has long been neglected by experts due to their habits. Take myself as an example. I majored pharmacy in college, and we often need to make slides and present clinical cases to classmates and teachers. After searching for related literature, I usually present to some of my classmates prior to the formal presentation. It's because the information in my slides is from experts in our field, but it is of greater importance that I deliver them in a clear way. Since the professors are so familiar with the topic that they might feel everything reasonable, I turn to colleagues for help under this condition.

To sum up, I admit that critical judgement of work from the experts in that field is of great value. However, the opinion from other people cannot be neglected, since various kind of viewpoints may help us to construct a better work.