'dominance of one sex over another on different faculties' Cambridge Task

It is a well known fact there is a dominance of one sex over another on different faculties.

Should universities accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject? How it can influence the progress in study? Would it be more a benefit or a hindrance? All these questions will be discussed in the following essay.

On the one hand, nowadays there is a great variety of subjects to study, and thus, students have a chance to make their choice out of a big amount of available professions. Subjects are divided into humanitarian and technical ones. For this reason, the majority of female students choose humanitarian disciplines, whereas male students choose technical ones. But there are some exceptions when women and men choose different disciplines. But everything depends on student's skills for his chosen future profession. So this is the reason why it is impossible to accept equal numbers of different genders students. It seems to be difficult to imagine women working with gadgets like computer chips, dangerous chemical substances, engineer drawings and et cetera.

On the other hand, the question under discussion whether universities should accept equal number of boys and girls in every subject is still a disputable one. Undoubtedly, one of the advantages of these criteria is that the principle of justice and gender equality will be kept. Moreover, it will be more exciting for the youth to study and enjoy their time together. What is more, males can help females understand technical subjects, and vice versa girls help with humanitarian ones. Additionally, there will be a friendly team spirit and a nice supporting atmosphere between peers.

In conclusion, I think it is not a good idea to accept equal numbers of students because they will be more attracted by each other than by studies. Young people should be free to make their own choice and first of all try to find the proper profession for them to get a success in future career beneficial for their country and well-being.

Written by me, with teacher's corrections.