Efficiency of Working in Groups - TOEFL Essay

cooperation between people at a work place

Sometimes we are assigned to work in a group on a project. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The group will be helped more by persons who will be willing to do what other group members want than by persons who often strongly insist that things should be done in a way that is different from what the group wants to do.

Based on my observations, I strongly agree that a group will be helped more by persons who will be willing to do what other members want. In the following paragraphs, I will give more details to support my stance.

First of all, a group highlights the working efficiency, and a person who is willing to do what other members want could be increasing the efficiency. For instance, John was my colleague in the cosmetic company two years ago. John tends to cooperate with others in the team because he identified with the efficiency was the first priority. Last year, there was an urgent case. The boss asked us to make an advertisement for a new lipstick in a month. It was tough because generally, we needed at least two months to do the job. However, all members decided to challenge the impossible task. John spent several nights to brainstorm and come up with a lot of ideas with us. When John had different opinions, he would communicate with other members and negotiate feasible plans. Finally, we spent only two weeks and finished the project of advertisement. On the contrary, if someone in my group did not cooperate with other members, we could not accomplish the task in such a short time.

Secondly, a group needs cohesion, and a person who is willing to do what other members want could enhance the group cohesion. That is, those who like to do the same things as other members could make friends with and support each other. Take my friend, Amy, as an example. Amy participated in a volunteer program to help the elderly people in hospitals. Amy devoted four days a week to the club because she loved to join in the same activities with other members, such as mountain climbing. In a short time, Amy made a lot of friends at the club. Amy gave other members a lot of support as they had difficulties. Similarly, other members could listen to Amy's troubles and help her release anxiety. Finally, the group generated a strong connection with the members.

To conclude, I support that a group would be improved more by persons who are willing to do what other members want. To be more specific, they could prompt working efficiency and group cohesion. That's why I have this kind of opinions.