Task 2: Exams should be replaced by an overall grade based on the whole period of study.

methods for evaluating students

Although many schools have used examinations as a way of measuring their students' performances, some people suggest that they should supersede it by some form of continuous assessment. Personally I think no one method that applies to all educational systems.

On the one hand, exams can be both encouraging and academic. Taking exams is the best way of stimulating learners to compete with others to get better grades, and those of who are the best will be awarded. An additional point is that exams can evaluate how good and flexible a student is when he tackles a number of questions requiring all of what has been studied for a long time. Furthermore, students will be motivated to strengthen their information processing skills which can be a valuable experience for their own lives.

However, there are some arguments that this traditional method does not test students' knowledge but how much they can remember in few days. And it is unfair for those who always study hard but have a poor memory for facts and figures. Moreover, students will be under too much pressure to spend most of the their time cramming for exercises to satisfy their thirsts for being the best. Lastly, using overall assessment of the whole period of study can prove a great deal of efforts of students from the beginning.

In conclusion, while continuous assessment may be fairer to some extent, exams also play a crucial part in evaluating one's abilities. It is reasonable to use both methods so that students can deserve a reward for their abilities or hard work.