TOEFL ESSAY: FAMILY vs FORMAL EDUCATION

Teaching Parents

There is always a heated debate that whether "Parents are the best teachers". When faced with this topic,many people claims that parents would play a significant role in the education of children. While others, in contrast ,believe that what children gain from the society carry greater weight on the children, compared with the former.

From where i stand, i am inclined to the former that parents are the best teacher. What books are to scholars, instruments are to musicians, parents are always behind the children, and the influence they bring is the same, which is along with the whole lifetime of children. What parents do, even on a tiny thing, could leave deep impressions on the children's mind. For example, If the parents are not mentally healthy, it is very possible for the children to suffer from the mental illness in the future. Therefore, parents should often watch out their behaviors to be equal to a "teacher" and keep in mind that a best teacher is able to cultivate children through their daily life.

What's more, family education lends itself to direct and stimulate children's interest. If history is a guide, most of the famous people who have made great achievement benefit from excellent family education. The education is not only about the right principles to suit in the society, but also tapping their potentials. Children who have discovered fields that they are willing to devote to are tend to be more persistent and could go places easier.

To conclude, it's reasonable to say that Parents are the best teachers to children in their whole life.