Final Course Reflection Paper on Communication class, Introduction to Argumentation and Debate

Final Course Reflection Paper

At the beginning of the course, I was new to Argumentation and Debate. The debate is a new field for me. When I saw debate programs on T.V, I felt extremely admired debaters because they truly understood topics and gave audiences lots of concrete pieces of evidence such as statistics, or testimony. At that time, I wish I could take any class related to debate skills and it's the reason why I chose this class, Introduction to Argumentation and Debate. The class has helped me become a good debater, which also strengthening my skill in other areas. Through the semester, I have completed three presentations and assignments that have increased my speaking as well as writing skills in argumentative topics. By taking this class, I have been able to develop non-verbal communication, public speaking, and researching and supporting materials.

This class helped me develop my non-verbal communication skills. Non-verbal communication is important for strengthening your verbal messages to the audiences. It can give them full attention when you present. However, at first, I didn't know how to use non-verbal communication to connect effectively with people. For instance, I didn't see on the camera directly when I present, which made me decrease my interaction with the audience. But now I have known how to use non-verbal communication successfully. Whenever I present, I'll use eye contact, body language, and facial expression to deliver my information more persuasively. Before taking the class, I heard a lot about how non-verbal communication important is, but I didn't realize that. In my mind at that time, to build a relationship or persuade someone verbal communication is the best way. Now, I know non-verbal signals are also important because it can increase trust, clarity, and add interest to my presentation.

My public speaking skill was also developed by taking this class. At first, I was always looking at my notes because I didn't feel confident. I thought if I looked at these notes that would be easier for me. But now, I feel more confident and comfortable such as looking straight at the camera or the audience by using lots of eye contact and facial expression after the second speech. To be honest, this class was the hardest class that I took this semester since I'm not good at public speaking, and English is not my mother language. So, I felt extremely anxious at first speech, but after the second one, I felt more positive. I spent more time working on each speech than other peers to succeed in this class. "Don't be frustrated" and "You can do it" are the sentences that I always keep in mind to encourage me to become more confident before every single speech. Moreover, I also realized that thinking always has come along with speaking which means the more you think deeply about the topic, the more fluently speak you have.

The last outcome of this class was I enhance my research and using supporting materials. Let go back to my second speech, Genetic Engineering. In fact, it's difficult for me since I didn't have any knowledge about Genetic Engineering. Therefore, I researched as much as information I could to totally understand what Genetic Engineering is. Moreover, I also watched lots of videos on YouTube to help me got more ideas. At the beginning of the class, I usually felt frustrated because most of the topics regarded controversial ones, so I needed to find several concrete pieces of evidence by researching to persuade audiences and back up my ideas. But now, everything has become easier for me since my researching skill will be much improved. In fact, the presentation definitely becomes more persuasive if you use supporting materials such as statistics, testimony, definitions, and examples. These are the things that I learned from the communication class. Being a good debater, you have to good at research and understand clearly both sides of the topic. Because if your ideas are not strong enough, you cannot convince audiences to believe you and take your side. In my opinion, the debate is not the arguments I might have with my family or friends and it also doesn't mean if I speak louder, I will win the debate. I need to research the topic not only my side but also my opponents' side to refute their ideas to persuade the audience that I'm right.

In conclusion, looking back on this class, I have realized just how much my public speaking, writing, and researching have improved since the beginning of the semester and the first speech. I proud of myself because I overcome my fear of public speaking to become more confident. Moreover, I, myself, recognized how important non-verbal communication is. Finally, I would like to emphasize that the people who win the debate are not the people who speak louder, but those who understand clearly both sides of the topic by using lots of concrete pieces of evidence are winners. The argumentation and debate skills are not something that you leave behind after finishing this class, so I must take these skills not only with me for the following years, but the rest of my life.