This essay will give an answer on why we are in need of music (historical vs cosmopolitan)

There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Nowadays, the kinds of music differs a lot worldwide. This essay will give an answer on why we are in need of music, and whether the historical, longstanding music of a state is more relevant than the cosmopolitan music that is played everywhere these days.

We need music, because it makes us feel good and is healthy. The majority of people likes music because it provides them the necessary emotion that corresponds with their own. For example, If persons want to have a party they will choose positive, uplifting tunes with a fast beat to strengthen their already existing sentiment. Furthermore, music affects our health positively as it helps us to stay sound and avoid diseases.For instance, a study from Loyala University in Chicago found that retired orchestra musicians are less likely to develop dementia, because of the favourable impact making music had on their brains.

Traditional music is not more important than international music, because we live in a globalised world, and this has an influence on every part of our lives nowadays. Ancestral music is often restricted to certain simple intruments with a limited tonal range, and the variety of rhythm patterns and composition techniques is noticeably reduced. For example, Thailand's traditional music is performed on four - strings lutes respectively three - strings zithers, but it lost its predominate position in the 1930s to jazz music, which mirrors the huge impact this new music had on the world.

In conclusion, music is of great help in terms of staying healthy and balanced. But it does not necessarily has to be traditional music, because modern music plays a more important role in times of globalisation. Although the quality of the music we can hear everywhere worldwide is many times not good, musicians nowadays have a wide selection to fuel their creativity.