Some practices harmed Chinese people's interests and damaged their emotions - GRE

Hi,everyone. I'm taking the AW very soon and very much worried about my writing skill. Could anyone help me out? Thanks for any progress in advance:)

212If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it is justifiable.

What goals should be defined as worthy to attain? The answer should be the goals which are both justifiable in its initiative and in the means taken to achieve them.The author unfairly exclude the means taken to achieve a goal from the judgment of its value, thus claiming that whatever goals with a good intention worth commitment of people. However, history is replete with examples where the author's contention has been applied, yet to be repudiated by the humanity as a whole. While some methods taken to achieve a goal may impede the achievement of the goal itself, some methods taken for some goals might actually undermine other interests of the humanity.

First and foremost, the means taken to achieve a goal can in turn prevent the goal from being achieved, thus rendering itself worthless. An example comes from the realm ecology serves aptly to exemplify this opinion. In a district where the ecosystem has been dominated by one species from other ecosystem due to the lack of preyers on this species, people in most cases can not try to solve the problem by simply introducing its preyers to the very same ecosystem. The reason is that the end of one problem in this case will be ensued by other, which makes the endeavor to the protection of the ecosystem fruitless.

In the second place, the means taken to achieve a goal, seemingly justifiable in the eyes of one group of people, can be unjustifiable, or even egregious in the eyes of different groups of people. While people who benifits from that goal tend to embrace it without reservations, people whose interests will be violated through the carrying out of that goal will go to great length to oppose it. Some scenarios during the wartime come immediatelly to mind. One of them is the lethal human experimentation performed by the Japanese armies on the Chinese civilians. Numourous experiments concering the evaluation of drug effects or the functioning of human body had been imposed primarily by the notorious Unit 731 on innocent Chinese people. Even though such experiements have, to some extend, boosted scientific advancements in Japanese scientific scence, these practices had actually harmed Chinese people's interests and damaged their emotions. As a result, these experiments will be totally out of the question when judged from the side of Chinese people. Regardless of whatever benefits the implementation of a goal will bring to one group of people; it can still be justifiable if it threatens to damage the interests of the rest of people in the world.

In the third place, the goal itself and the method taken to achieve that goal can represent different kinds of concerns existing in the society while the beneficiaries of the goal is the same . It is factaries owners and bussinessmen who would most likely to welcome the building of factories, as opposed to enviormentalists, who would reckon the construction of these factories worthless in terms of the pollution entailed. The supporters and opposers of the same endeavour represent the two different intests required by us, a well-off life and a clean environment. However, these two interests in this case can not be both guaranteed by the implementation of the same goal, thus mutually exclusive in this case. To solve the dilemma, factories owners need to modify their plan and make them as eco-conscious as possible. As a result, a balance is in need between the goals for the protection of the earth and the ones for the achievements of profits.

Futhermore, while the goal itself may be favorable for the achievement of certain short-time interests, the long-time versions of such goals can be unfairly defied by the method taken to achieve the goal or vice versa. One need not to go far beyond the real conditions in the poverty-driven countries to find an evidence. In such a countriy where the needs to develop agricultrue and feed individuals are both pressing, governments will be confronted with the question as to what should be given the priority. While hungry people eager to have enough food, the agriculture undertaking also requires the money which will otherwise be used to buy food. So the goal to feed some people in the short term goes against the long -term goal to feed all the people in the far future.

In the final analysis, a goal that is really worhthy on the humanity level is the goal that is able to satisfy everyone both now and in the future. Granted such a goal rarely exists, we need to evaluate carefully before making the finale decision . However a goal will serve the achievement of certain interest, it won't be justifiable if, by closer examination, has the potential to vioalte broader interests of humanity. In other words, It calls for intelligence to define a really worthy goal.