Toefl essay-I prefer the movies are designed primarily to amuse and entertain.

I'm freshman, ^^ thanks for your kindly help!!!

Topic: Some movies are serious, designed to make the audience think. Other movies are designed primarily to amuse and entertain. Which type of movie do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are many types of movies: comedy, drama, horror, suspense or thriller, action, fantasy, crime, romance, science fiction, documentary, family, mysterious, etc. In my opinion, every type of movies has its specific function. For instance, the comedy can make you laugh and greatly release your pressure; the conflict and intense character development in drama provoke audience to think; the science fiction movies always deepen people's understanding to the risk of the exploration or high-technology and sometimes enlighten invention. Even the horror films which many persons consider are nothing but scare and frighten people have their own value, such as telling people to be brave and kind-hearted or some non-mainstream perspectives.

Thus, it is hard to decide which type of movies you prefer. It is depended on your current mood and situation. Recently, movies designed primarily to amuse and entertain suit me because I am feeling a tremendous amount of pressure this week, like the air around me slightly constricting. Since three months ago I graduated from university and entered the job market, there had been something incompatible between me and working environment. I experience a completely different world from the school campus, more competition and stress, less praise and encouragement. Besides, you also need to deal with the intricate relationships with customers, colleagues, team leader and many strangers, which is a new networking art I have much to learn. All in all, I eager to absorb the nutrition from the relaxing movies and refuel. The entertainment and amusement in them like a wind sweep away the depressed mood and bring a breath of fresh air to me.

Specifically speaking, I love Mr. Bean series so much. It is a British comedy television series of 14 half-hour episodes written by and starring Rowan Atkinson as the title character. Based on a character originally developed by Atkinson at university, the series follows the exploits of Mr. Bean, described by Atkinson as "a child in a grown man's body", in solving various problems presented by everyday tasks and often causing disruption in the process. Bean rarely speaks, and the largely physical humor of the series is derived from his interactions with other people and his unusual solutions to situations. I can hardly stop laughing when watching them and forget all the unpleasant things. It is really a help to adjust my mood. The fantastic idea of Mr. Bean is amazing.