The reason why I choose Lee is that he was born in Taiwan

Essay 1: Imagine being able to join a conversation between two people, living or deceased. Identify the people and topic and express what you would like to ask and learn from them.

**I got messed up. Should I include two people other than my own self?

**Should I use a dialogue?

**Please give me some small paragraph of examples so I can know what direction I am heading to. Thanks!!!

If I have the chance to talk to anyone, I will choose the famous Taiwanese movie director, Ang Lee. As a renowned and successful movie director, Lee had won the Oscar Best Director and was recognized by the world with his movie "Brokeback Mountain" in 2005. In addition, his latest film "Life of Pi" had just released, and has gained much popularity throughout the world.

The reason why I choose Lee is that he was born in Taiwan, which is also where I was born. Thus, he will be able to share and provide his experiences of his struggling in America with me in similar situation since we are from the same nation and we were exposed and influenced in the same culture.

First, to begin with the conversation, I would first ask him how to get along with students of different ethnicity in university by accepting those cultural gaps. I am eager to make friends of diverse cultures so I can broaden my outlooks by learning and recognizing other cultures.

Also, as Lee and I are both Taiwanese, the biases toward Asians may definitely occur in my education period in university though the opposing actions are not that furious in modern times. So the second thing I would like to ask Lee is that in which way I can introduce Taiwan's customs to people without triggering the sensitive ethnicity issue. As a student in Purdue University, I have the obligation to enhance the diversity of cultural backgrounds as to form a so-called global village.

Thirdly, I would like to ask Lee about the way to discover my own potential, in other words, to decide my major. There are miscellaneous kinds of jobs in the world, and every person will be most suitable at a specific profession. Having hesitations deciding my major, I think what I really need at this current moment is an advice from an experienced person who has succeeded through his way.

The fourth and the most important question I would like to ask Lee is that how to stand out from others. Although it is a simple question, there will be a lot of things to do to dig in for the answers. And director Lee is definitely the perfect person who I can ask for help. Being a nonnative student from Taiwan, Lee must have to work hard to not only triumph over others but also break the biases of people regarding Asians. I would like to learn the right attitude toward a challenge and the courage to win over oneself from him.

To sum up, it is because of the same nationality I am as director Lee that makes him the perfect choice for me to ask for advice. Thus, if given the opportunity to have a conversation with director Lee, I would definitely cherish this precious experience and gain more insight of myself through his responses.