Solve traffic and transportation problems by moving people to city side

Some people think that in order to solve traffic and transportation problems people should be encouraged to live in cities rather than in suburbs or in the countryside.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

a solution to the traffic congestion?

Over the last few decades, vehicle usage has been dramatically increased, causing traffic and several transportation problems. Some people opine that, in order to cope with the traffic congestion, people should move from the countryside to city areas. However, I disagree with this view to a large extent, and my reasons will explain in this essay.

In the first place, Shifting tens of thousands of people to the city side may result in several other additional problems due to the lack of infrastructural facilities. Prevailing facilities and resources in the urban areas will probably not enough to deal with the increasing demand of the community. For instance, public transportation, market and community places will be overwhelmed with the high crowd; therefore, moving people from outskirts to towns will arise numerous social problems and community conflicts.

Apart from that, the population movement to the city side will increase the urban population, which will magnify the risk of environmental pollution. In order to deal with the increasing demand for the residences and other facilities, authorities will have to gear up the development activities. Increasing construction and development tasks will result in numerous biohazards such as drainage network blockages and the excessive amount of garbage production; hence, encouraging people to move into the city areas will make an adverse impact on the environment and inherently affect the public health.

In conclusion, rising traffic congestion is a serious matter for many large cities. It has been suggested that an effective solution would be to encourage people to shift from outskirts and suburbs to the city side. From my point of view, population movement is not a feasible way to cope with the transportation issues as it can arise several other social and environmental problems.