TOEFL: amusing movies or serious movies

Some movies are serious, designed to make the audience think. Other movies are designed primarily to amuse and entertain. Which type of movie do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A public debate on amusing movies or serious movies has arisen to attention. There are diverse attitudes from people with distinguishing backgrounds. Some people would like to watch amusing movies, which are designed primarily to amuse and entertain; while, other people prefer watching serious movies designed to make the audience thinking. Personally speaking, I more would like to watch serious movies. There are several conspicuous aspects as follows.

Firstly, it teaches us how to optimistically face dilemma situations and provide effective methods as much as possible to solve it. Take "The Pursuit OF Happiness" as example, Chris Gardner, who is actor of the serious movies which it gives me a further thinking from my view. When Gardner faces unemployment and homeless, but he never give up his dream, which is working in a top financial company in America. Moreover, he will never let any opportunity slip away from his fingers once he meets the unique opportunity. No matter how difficult in his life, he is still trying his best to face these difficulties with confidence. Eventually he conquered these obstacles and his dream came true. After I watch the movies, I think about many things and I will learn the spirit of Gardner, if I were taking in a bad condition, I would learn to be confident and smile to the life.

Furthermore, I will think more thoughtful about things than before. To some extent, it stimulates inspiration and creation when watching serious movies. Despite movie is not real but it is origin from life. We will suffer many troubles all through the life. For instance, difficult project put me in bad condition some time. In order to better solve the difficult we perhaps need some inspirations from other aspects like watching movie rather than rigid think at the office. Perhaps a sentence or an idea from a serious movie will inspire one in the respect of solving problems, and thus we might get unexpected result. Not only we can relax our body and mind through watching serious movies, but also done better in the work. Thus, I prefer serious movies.

Finally, although amusing movies also has its benefit, such as relax mind and body, and enjoying the happy environment, but they can share the feeling watching serious movie. Thus, the minor is too superficial and weak to strengthen the issue.

All in all, although some people may still remain unconvinced, the reasons I have analyzed could at least make them more aware of the various dimensions of the issue under discussion. There is little doubt that more and more people will come to realize that the advantage of serious movies.