TASK 2: What is the Best Method to Hire Employees?

Most employers interview candidates before hiring them. Do you think this is the best way to do it? In your opinion, what is the best method for choosing employees?

Interview is generally used by many companies to recruit employees. However, I believe that this is not the best way to hire people since it does not cover all the capability of applicants in which the assessment should be made to measure a whole ability of people such as aptitude test.

Conducting interview is not a very effective recruitment method because the interview does not give the interviewee a chance to show how good they really are. The skills tested in interview, such as the ability to communicate in a friendly manner and being able to answer the question without any assistance are the opposite of those required by many jobs. For example, a skilled computer programmer or lab technician may be socially awkward and used to consulting the internet before answering a question and they would never be able to show how technically proficient they are.

Needles to say, the best way to screen potential ability and analyze the bad or good point of applicants is by aptitude test. When it comes to hiring, aptitude test allow company to make a more informed decision by comparing the result of candidates in term of choosing the right person. For example, statistics reveal that 70% of world's recruitment companies use aptitude test as a part of their recruitment procedure in which permit the potential companies to determine how individuals complete particular job and how they fit well within the work environment.

In conclusion, interview does not cover all skills of people since it just shows communication ability instead of work's capability and the best method would be aptitude test. It is recommended to the companies combine both method to get a better result.