The best way to reduce crime among young people is to teach parents good parenting skills - IELTS 2

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give your own opinion and examples.

Hi everyone,

I'm a novice here.

Please help me to revise my IELTS essays.

I will really appreciate it .

Thank you very much : )

It is true that family education plays a significant role in shaping children's personality. While I agree that equipping parents with good parenting skills is practical to lowering juvenile delinquency, I believe that virtuous companions and friends are the best way to deter them from committing crimes.

Undoubtedly, parents should possess fundamental parenting skills to teach their children distinguishing right from wrong, fostering proper moral values, and guaranteeing fairness and justice. Moreover, because children always learn from what their parents do, whether it is good or not, I am definitely convinced that the more positive examples parents impart, the fewer crimes children commit. For instance, the polite children who can yield their seats and join the queue are attributed to the upbringing of civilized parents.

However, the circles of society is a critical factor to affecting behaviors of adolescents.The young often reckon that friendship is important to them, and sometimes even ambitious brotherhood is reduced to criminality due to unconditionally supporting their friends. From my own experience for instance, poor store performance led my well-mannered cousins to embezzle money to help his best friend, for which he ultimately spent one year in jail.

In conclusion, while bad upbringing will cause youth crime, in my opinion, bad company is the main culprit of juvenile delinquency over parenting. Adolescents sometimes go astray because of so-called friendship. However, while I don't deny the important of friendship, we should recognize that to watch the friends we keep is more significant.