CBEST WRITING: money available from the state budget for school districts

funds for school districts

Question: The amount of money available from the state budget for school district X has not increased in the last three years, despite the increasing number of students and rising administrative costs. As a result, members of the school board have formed partnerships with local businesses.

Additional info: It showed that I have usage and structure and convention issues in my essay. What am I doing wrong?

Forming partnership with businesses is a controversial issue that has been prevalent over the years. Some believe that it will taint schools and build customer loyalty with children. Others believe these businesses should get recognition for supporting the school systems. If a school cannot provide all of its necessary programs, equipment, and classroom materials for its students due to budget shortage, then I believe a school should be allowed to form partnerships to meet the need of its students with guidelines and restrictions on what the company can donate and what the company cannot donate.

Schools should ensure the quality of their student's education by providing the latest resources and technology to provide a chance for the students to learn the necessary skills for the workforce. We are living in a technology age where our workforce depends on technology skills, thus if a school can afford to update its computers for students, it will serve its students well as it prepares them for the workforce.

Elementary and middle schools should enforce strict guidelines and regulations before accepting donations from businesses to reduce tainting the school environment. If schools start accepting donations with businesses' logos all over and biased textbooks, it will affect our learning environment. Young kids do not know when they are being advertised or spot subtle advertisements. This is why schools should minimize building loyal customers within this age group by accepting only funds and resources without logos.

Due to budget shortages, schools should look for outside funding to fund their necessary programs. However, receiving gifts and donations should be regulated by all ages to reduce tainting a learning environment for students. If it is done properly, I believe our students will benefit from receiving optimal and quality education.