How much choice students should have when it comes to choosing the area of study at university

Students choice which subjects they want to study

Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

People have different points of view about how much choice students should have when it comes to choosing the area of study at university. While some believe there should be only several certain of the areas like science or technology should be taught, I strongly lean towards the notion of it is the students free of right to choose their majors, the subjects they want to learn.

These days, there is an array of reasons why people think students should opt for science and technology. First, it is due to the development and technological advances which play a vital role in our life, from medical to services, or even agriculture. Therefore, scientists of computer developers are considered to have more job opportunities, career progression, higher salaries compared to the others. Moreover, it is the inventions of science and technology which contributes to our society's evolution from the Industrialization 1.0 to 4.0. Last but not least, by promoting subjects related to STEM can tighten the skills and human resources gap in those fields to accelerate the economic growth.

Nevertheless, I completely support that college students should study whatever they want. Each one has their own abilities, interests in particular aspects in their lives, you can not make a fish climb a tree, this will even worsen the social and human development. Only when you have passion for the subjects you are keen on, can you have the motivation to unleash your potentials, erase your limits in that field. Besides, we can not deny the paramount importance of other subjects like arts, history or economics which triggers the creativity of people.

In conclusion, while science and technology constitute so much to our life, I still gravitate towards the notion of students are free to select which subjects they want to study.