Color of goods and sales - Essay - IELTS_Writing task 2

How colour influences us?

Colour is a powerful tool that is used to great effect by manufacturers and retail companies when they try to sell us something. In fact, many of the purchasing decisions we make are partly or largely influenced by colour.

How true is this statement? How much does colour influence us when we buy something?

Numerous assessments analyze that customers make a strong decision to purchase goods is considerably influenced by colour. Manufacturers and retail business use colour psychology as an effective way to attract a number of customers when they sell their products. As far as I am concerned that colour is a potential element of marketing when some companies try to sell their products of a highly competitive market.

As a matter of fact, firms generally invest vast capitals to design a colourful advertisement so as to pay more public attention. Colour affects the customer's attention to make an unconscious decision. Furthermore, colour certainly becomes a particular symbolization for the company's product which is a primary element that people have to notice if they want to find a brand. For example, fast-food restaurants like McDonald's, KFC, Pizza Hut, and Popeye's all greatly use red in their brands because red creates a sense of urgency and encourages appetite.

Excitingly, colour completely impacts on some people when they have to make a decision on buying some items because it can boost their confidence. For instance, the adolescent feels more confident when they wear bright and colourful garment than dark ones. This results in a number of young people are completely choosing products and depend on colour.

In contrast, colour is not the first choice of buyers when they are deciding whether they will buy the product. Because the quality is often more assessed by the customer to make certain that the product's service life can be used for lengths of time. From my points of view; however, colour also has an exclusive ability to attract specific types of consumers and change consumer behaviour. According to research conducted in the United States, 92.6 per cent said that they considered a visual factor as the most important when buying products.

In conclusion, colour plays a vital role in the overall layout of the retail store and can largely influence the customer's pivotal decision to buy or not to buy. Therefore, manufacturers and retail companies should take advantage of colour psychology so as to use the proper colour scheme for producing items as well as decorating retail stores that attract customer buying their products.