IELTS - When it comes to recycle, only little domestic wastes have been recycled

laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste

Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Many people believe that only little domestic wastes have been recycled; and hence, governments should be in position to accelerate the recycling process. This essay agrees with this suggestion due to its benefits. The essay will first examine how imposing laws on recycling affect people and then discuss other possible alternatives.

Obviously, governments making legal requirements on recycling has a profound impact on the societies that forces people to recycle their household wastes one way or another. Firstly, recycling policies adopted by governments can encourage inhabitants to follow the recycling process by categorizing their daily wastes and put them in the right places. Secondly, rules and regulations help deter people from not recycling. Apparently, violating these rules will result in harsh penalties.

However, there are still some other alternatives to imposing laws on recycling. For instance, public awareness of recycling can be raised through mass media. Both the children and adults can be effectively educated about the importance of recycling and their own responsibilities. Also, children, from an early age, should be familiar with recycling once they get to know this from parents and schools. Moreover, recycling should also be improved and upgraded, even in rural areas, to encourage people to recycle. It is true to argue that unless people with have access to these facilities, they can be deterred from participating in the recycling process.

In conclusion, I agree on governments imposing laws on recycling as it is effective against people not recycling. However, alternative ways to this are also undoubtedly impactful and should not be played down.