These days, fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in high schools.

IELTS TASK TWO

These days, in many countries fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?

By 21st century, in many countries, being a teacher in a school was held in high esteem in the job market. However, nowadays, the profession of a teaching, especially in high schools, has significantly lost its popularity as a result of the advantages of better occupations created by modern technology advances and fewer people want to get this job. This essay will indicate the reasons and propose some solutions.

The first factor to consider in terms of the shortage of teachers is a significant difference in the salaries paid to teachers and other qualified workers, which are notably higher. For instance, in some countries teachers earn twice less than lawyers or doctors. Consequently, the prospect of low income discourages students from pursuing a career in teaching. One possible solution would be for the government to increase teachers' wages. This could lead to a dramatic rise in the number of graduates willing to devote their lives to teaching.

Another essential problem is the bad behaviour of present-day students. These days, children do not have the same respect for teachers as they did in past decades, when corporal punishment was commonplace. According to recent survey, current pupils tend to disobey teachers or even behave rudely toward them. As a result, potential teachers are greatly discouraged from choosing this profession as their future job. Dealing with issue involves parents teaching their offspring that they need to have respect for adults and should not behave in inappropriate ways.

Last but not least, teaching is a very demanding job, which requires a lot of stamina and patience in order to deal with all the difficulties. Extensive paperwork and marking can make teachers be snowed under with a number of challenges. To tackle this problem, educational staff should be provided with assistants who will reduce their workload. This would result in a decrease in the amount of hours teachers spend at school, and will lead to a better work-life balance.

In summary, graduates are often faced with the dilemma of whether to become teachers or to choose a more lucrative profession. Currently, they tend to opt for more profitable and less demanding jobs. To resolve this problem, the government and educational authorities need to gradually improve teachers' working conditions and increase their salaries. Otherwise, we risk a serious lack of teachers in the future.