Discuss both views about Fortune-telling and superstition

superstition and fortune-telling topic

Nowadays, superstition is a hot issue in many areas. Many individuals think that fortune-telling and other superstitious belief are essential for cultural maintenance while others had an opinion that the governments should outlaw them. I have a strong belief that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages when mentioning this issue.

On the one hand, fortune-telling which belongs to the spiritual realm gives us some benefits in almost for our mental life. Firstly, in our psychological individuals, a strong belief in superstition serves to alleviate fear and encourage optimistic ideas. Additionally, belief in destiny provides a person with a sense of security as well as trust and helps render life a coherent narrative, which infuses goals with greater sense of purposes. For example, we can receive a good prophecy or advice in the first days of the year from the fortune-tellers and this can be a source of motivation for us to succeed at work or studying. Secondly, besides the personal aspect, fortune-telling and superstitious rituals have ancient values which are tied to the tradition of our ancestral beliefs. It helps differentiate and maintain the cultural values of each country or area.

On the other hand, I have a complete belief that the law should interfere with people's excessive superstition for the following reasons. Firstly, this kind of ritual influences human life with many problems of fraud or performing silly divination acts to cheat money from gullible people. This makes a large number of criminal threats in social life and endangers other fields relating to a cultural value such as tourist attractions about the old town. For example,

a lady has just murdered her little grandkids because of her naive belief in fortune-telling. Furthermore, it comes to a feeling of relaxation, laziness and makes people rely on predictions instead of hard work. Additionally, it can also arise to depression, mental disorder, or systems of anxiety tension, and so on.

In conclusion, although superstition and fortune-telling used to play a huge role in remaining our cultural value, we should always learn to be optimistic in all matters for it as well constitutes positive energy and way of life in this modern era.