European Championship - football essay

Hi everyone. As you may notice i am not a native speaker. So please forgive me my lack of knowledge I'm trying to improve my English skills.

My text is a little report about how I experienced the tournament in my hometown Zurich, in Switzerland.

European Championship

It's about two weeks ago when a great football competition took place in Austria and Switzerland; the European Championship. It has been one of the best competitions I have ever seen in my life. Not only because it took place in my hometown Zurich, it is also because the spectators had been experienced some fascinating games. The atmosphere has been fantastic; there is no doubt about that. Even in the densest crowd I did not get witness to aggressivity and that is something that amazed me. I remember one game I really enjoyed. I and some friends were watching the Netherlands playing against world champion Italy. We had been supporting team Holland among hundreds of Italian fans. We won this game in a spectacular way which made the Netherlands at one blow count to the top favourites of the competition. Anyway after the match the Italian fans had been celebrating together with us.

Well after the qualification round the Netherlands were stopped by the Russians what made me really sad because the Russians had been playing better by far and I did not recognize my team, which had been playing incredibly until that day, anymore.

In the end the Russians had been beaten by Spain which continued its way to the top by defeating Germany in an exciting final. I am glad that Spain has made it after my favourite teams, Netherland and Switzerland, had been eliminated. I strongly hope that the Netherland will win one of the next football competitions no matter if it is World Cup or European Championship. But in the eyes of many it is much harder to achieve the victory in the European Championship than in the World Cup. That is also my opinion because each and every nation that has made its way to the tournament is one of the best teams in the world. Beside Brazil and Argentina all the top nations of football participate in that great event normally.

It will always remain a thing to me I won't understand why football is not that popular in the USA despite it is almost everywhere else the number one sport. When I was younger I was a great Basketball Fan and I even stayed up at night (3 A.M) to watch the Chicago Bulls win three in a row. But while growing older football gained on basketball until getting my one and only number one.