IELTS Writing Task 2 - the extensive use of computers in classroom, reduce the number of teachers

Learning would be improved through the extensive use of computers in the classroom. This would reduce the number of teachers required, which would be an advantage. Discuss.

Can technology replace teachers?

Nowadays, with the immense advances of modern science and technology, computers are widely used in classrooms to improve the teaching and learning quality. This may lead to the decline in the number of teachers required. In my opinion, this phenomenon either brings about many benefits and maintains a number of drawbacks.

First and foremost, most of computers in schools are now access to the high-speed Internet, which helps student approach a variety of learning materials around the world in different fields ranging from science or biology to geography or history. These materials can help students obtain general knowledge and increase level of cognitive achievement. Additionally, making use of computers will assist teachers in preparing for lessons and help them save much time and provide students with high-quality lectures.

However, there are some disadvantages when utilising computers in classrooms. Firstly, schools equipped with modern technology hardly sidestep an issue of funding and financial resources. As a result, many schools in developing countries still remains traditional classes with poor-quality facilities and equipments. Secondly, human contact is of great importance so it is necessary for students to practice teamwork skills and communication skills. Finally, teachers play an integral part in evaluating student's progress and acknowledging their deficiencies.

In summary, it is beneficial to use computers in classrooms; yet, teachers are still on demand and their roles are considered important.