IELTS WRITING TASK 2 - WHICH IS BETTER? PROVIDING SCHOOLS & TEACHERS OR COMPUTERS & INTERNET

In developing countries, children in rural communities have less access to education. Some people believe that the best way to solve the problem by providing schools and teachers. Some others think that it is better to provide computers and internet access.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

This is my first post here. I hope to receive some feedbacks from you. I mainly self study so sometimes I don't really know my common mistakes.

People have different views about whether providing teachers or internet connection is better to solve the problem of illiteracy in mountainous areas. While computing and searching skills can often be useful for children, I believe that the learning journey with teachers in classrooms is more effective.

On the one hand, students in remoted regions can quickly access to huge sources of information over the internet. Not only can they acquire knowledge about basic subjects like Math or Chemistry, they can broaden their horizons of other areas. It is true that they can improve their foreign languages effectively by communicating with native speakers via Facebook or Skype, or start learning other soft skills online easily. Besides, the provision of computers and internet is more affordable for the governments because it just includes the installation fees and the money for hiring some local experts to give instructions for the students to use. Also, the maintenance expenses are quite reasonable compared to the budget on building schools and hiring teachers.

On the other hand, it cannot be denied that teachers play an indispensable role in instructing the students to become good citizens. In a classroom, teachers not only teach knowledge to their pupils, but guide them how to behave kindly towards others as well. For instance, students will be given punishment if they bully their classmates. When studying in groups or playing with others, children's sense of community and co-operation will be surely enhanced. Therefore, the construction of schools and provision of teachers are the shortcuts to raise children's education.

In conclusion, I would argue that providing schools and teachers to students in isolated provinces is a best solution.