Fewer languages can make communication easier, so why bother to protect them from dying out?

Please help me correct. Thanks a lot!

Topic:

Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

My Writing:

Some people think that fewer languages can make communication easier, so it's not necessary to prevent language from dying out. I disagree with the viewpoint because I believe that language also act as other important roles in our life rather than just being a tool of communication.

First, language is a vital tool loading with people's ethnic identity and connects and relationship of people from the same hometown. For example, there are many Indigenous Taiwanese who lives in plains instead of mountains. Usually we won't take them as aboriginal people unless they show us that they can speak their aboriginal language. Even in our law, we only give subsidies to the Indigenous Taiwanese who have got the language qualification.

Second, language is one of the most identified part of a country' culture, which can't and shouldn't be deleted from people's mind. For instance, whenever we hear "bonjour" or "bon-voyage", the impression of a confident French woman may come into our brain. In addition, even though we never met European people, we imagine them to be gorgeous just from their language. Language can also represents a part of memorable history of a country.

In conclusion, it may save money if we don't preserve traditional languages and just let them die out, but in the long term this would have a negative impact on our cultural heritage. So I believe we must do something to prevent the extinction of languages.