"Friendly and helping others" - the qualities of a good neighbor?

Neighbors are the people who live near us. In your opinion, what are the qualities of a good neighbor? Use specific details and examples in your answer.

In my opinion, the quality of a good neighbor is very similar to that of a good friend. I assert that a good neighbor may possess two essential characters, showing kindness and willing to help others.

Kindness can create a delightful atmosphere in the neighborhood, which makes people live with contentment. With the advent of urbanization, more and more people now live in an apartment located in a metropolis, which means the actual distance between two individuals become closer, yet the mental distance of that seems to become more remote than before. Nowadays, neighbors living in the same apartment rarely talk to each other, and even they do, these conversations are often short and superficial. Thus people barely know each other or know very little. No wonder more and more people feel lonely and saturnine these days. Kindness can break this alienation and warm others' heart. By showing consideration and generosity to others, a good neighbor can greatly benefit the neighborhood.

Another aspect of a good neighbor is assisting others when they are in needs. Everyone may encounter some problems or emergencies sometimes. Obviously, if neighbors can provide assistance, people definitely feel relieved and comfortable because those who can help are not far away. Neighbors can support each other in miscellaneous ways, such as paying attention to the security when others are not home, or taking care of the neighbors' children when occasionally their parents have to work late.

In a nutshell, as I see, a good neighbor should have two fundamental facets. The first one is showing benevolence, and the second one is helping others. In other words, a good neighbor is like a good friend who live nearby. I suggest people can obtain good neighbors by showing the above-mentioned characters to their neighbors, then they may acting the same in return, considering others to be friends.