The gap between the rich and the poor; Introduction to essay on socio-economic inequality

Instructions abbrev.

1. 1pg intro for a paper that answers the question "is socio-economic inequality mostly good or mostly bad for society as a whole?"

2. Must consist of 3 distinct elements, each making a separate paragraph as follows

a)context- hook (opening sentence) to draw reader, telling them why to be interested, do not make argument just hint at it, must be 80-100 words

b) thesis statement- clear central argument, along with reasons, must be arguable 50-75 words

c)roadmap- tells how paper is organized, brief summary and the order of strongest argument to weakest, use some useful verbs, no reasons/justifications 50-75 words

No Man is an Island Dawn A

Look out! All roads ahead are leading to a wide canyon; bridges are not safe to cross. Use at own risk. In many developed nations the gap between the rich and the poor is widening. The traditional ideas of rich and poor are changing, where billionaires are the new millionaires and having basic needs met can mean you might not be considered poor. The rise of neoliberalism is diminishing the security blanket for the working poor. New trends in the labour market include part time or contract work, no pensions and no benefits. Economic stability and security affect everyone, rich and poor alike.

Socio-economic inequality has many adverse affects on society and lowers the quality of life. It has negative affects on health such as; life expectancy, infant mortality, chronic illness and obesity. Inequality gets into every aspect of our society; a greater importance is placed on social status which can lead to more feelings of shame. It weakens our sense of community and also leads to increased violence and imprisonment, and higher rates of mental health and addiction.

This essay argues that inequality is bad for society. First, the affects it has on human health will be examined. Next it will analyze how inequality manifests itself in all part of our social fabric and is woven into many social problems. Then reader will consider the impact inequality has on the economy and the tax base. In conclusion, one can interpret that socio-economic inequality has fundamentally negative consequences for society.