The impact of climate change and sustainability

When we have a flight in space, we look back at the Earth, we see a block where everything is rapidly changing and facing numerous problems such as conflict, war, climate change, global warming, weather disaster, and so on arousing alarm human beings. The environment is the most urgent problem concerned by scientists, governments, international organizations, social activists, and people around the world. In particular, the effects of climate change are a major challenge and sustainability could be the best solution.

The impact of climate is tremendously severe. First, climate change led to suddenly unusual and unforecast weather causing loss of life and property. For example, a few months ago, an earthquake happened in Turkey and Syria leading to a thousand people dead and destroying a large scale including buildings, and infrastructure. Second, climate change affected major agriculture such as reducing crop yields, the nutritional quality of major cereals, and lowering livestock productivity. In addition, climate change led to longer-term stresses like shortened seasons and erratic weather patterns. Climate change happened by the rising of global temperature from significant greenhouse gas emissions of developed countries, but it affected directly developing countries, especially the Southeast Asia region, South America, Africa, and vulnerable countries. It changed multiple facets of life people suffered from weather disasters, and scarcity of natural resources, and faced the challenges of food security and accommodation.

The unpredictable changes in climate perhaps would be addressed by sustainability. First, that is sustainable development and economic growth which do not trade the environment for economic development goals by implementing a circular economy, using clean energy, set the goals to achieve net zero. For example, Norway is an initiative country about zero-emissions cars, Netherlands recycled plastic to build roads. Second, sustainability is correctly implemented by possessing the right perceptions about the environment. Hence, education plays a vital role in laying the foundation of background knowledge for people, especially young people. On the other hand, sustainability is the solution for protecting natural resources and biodiversity by maximizing input resources and minimizing the amount of waste released into the environment.

In conclusion, sustainability is not the only solution for climate change but sustainability is the most potent way to address weather disasters. For a better future, for the next generation, climate change needs to have specific actions to mitigate and no one is left behind.