On the Inland of Hispanolia

Hello, my name is Bonnie Hines, and I am currently 16, and am taking an online History class. I have an essay due tomarrow night concerning the Spanish massacar. I wrote the following essay and would very much appreachiate it if you would let read and sugest how I can impporve and polish it to be the very best I can make it

Thanking you very much for your time and input,

Bonnie Hines

The following is the assignment:

In speaking against the enslavement of the Natives in the document "Of the Island of Hispaniola," the Dominican priest Bartolomé de las Casas wrote the following:

"God has created all these numberless people to be quite the simplest, without malice or duplicity, most obedient, most faithful to their natural lords, and to the Christians, whom they serve..."

Bartolome De Las Casas, the protector of the Native American Indians, was born in 1474 in Seville. In 1502 he traveled to American working as a conquistador under Christopher Columbus, and in return for his labor, he was granted a share of land and Indian Slaves to work it. During the time he spent in America, Las Casas was an eyewitness to the constant, brutal Mistreatment of the Indians. Finally, after observing a most disturbing scene concerning an Indian Chief preferring to go to hell instead of excepting Christianity because he was told "White men go to heaven". Las Casas realized just how far the Spanish had gone in turning the Indians' hate towards them. After retiring from his life as Spanish soldier and becoming a priest, Las Casas dedicated the remainder of his life to ending Indian slavery and working towards ending the Indian persecution. On one such effort, Las Casas wrote "On the Inland of Hispaniola" document that would later spread though the rest of the world to reveal just how cruel the Spanish soldiers had become.

Ever since Christopher and his men had landed on America and had made contact with their first Indians, it was quite clear to both sides that the Spanish were far more superior to the Natives in both military strength and in intelligence. As with keeping in the belief that almost all of society had at that time, the Spanish saw that the worth of a human was based almost exclusively on the power and intellect that that individual possessed. Without knowledge, there would be no respect, and without power, a person could become overpowered and used by others. Thus, when the Spanish soldier saw that they could easily cheat and do whatever they wanted to so to the Indians, and even reasoned that it was in their rights to do so,

for they saw that they were of a much higher class and superior to the Indians, and so eventually, continuing in that belief there were able to openly justify the unspeakable cruelties and wrongs that they had done the Natives without being rebuked or feeling remorse.