The Internet, despite being the most significant breakthrough in history, is indeed a mixed blessing

the advent of the Internet

Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the internet, and they can study just as well at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advent of the Internet, students these days can easily access a large volume of information on any given subjects. This current trend has given rise to a controversial issue that educational institutions have become obsolete and that children can learn from home. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with this statement for the following reasons.

To start with, the overwhelming variety of learning resources would potentially be counterproductive without the instruction of a mentor. Home computers and Internet access are undeniably integral for students to look up information for research. Equally important, though, is the provision of guidance from teachers and parental supervision in making effective use of the world wide web. Lack of proper guidance could lead students to misleading and unreliable materials. Whereas, in a structured learning environment, course books are thoroughly designed by prominent and qualified authors, providing learners with suitable knowledge in a systematic way.

On the other hand, upon the growing dominance of social networks such as Facebook, it seems that the Internet now offers even more distraction and unpleasantness than it has ever been. Thus, learners will likely succumb to the lure of chatting online instead of staying focused on their work. Besides, homeschooling will further entrench a worrying phenomenon that people these days would rather interact with electronic gadgets than engage in real human conversation . Therefore, the physical presence of a child in school or any other institution is of great importance, encouraging face to face communication and the development of interpersonal skills.

In conclusion, the Internet, despite being the most significant breakthrough in history, is indeed a mixed blessing. Learners can only harness its power to the full under the orientation and instruction of highly qualified school teachers. Only in that way can the Internet serves as a valuable aid/ a complement to the national curriculum.