IELTS WRITING TASK 2: WHICH TO INVEST IN, RAILWAYS OR ROADS? Give reasons for your answer.

authorities should not pay for building tracks but motorways

Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

It is generally acknowledged that figures of authority need not pay for building tracks but motorways. Actually, there are plenty of youths considering roads as the priority when it comes to driving for work or going to school owing to countless reasons. Personally, I completely agree with this statement since railways own a great deal of advantages.

In my opinion, rail service can give people a productivity boost in life. First, our timing would be guaranteed by express trains. Fast trains stop less to save us time and preclude our press for minutes in traffic jams before work. Second, subways would be much more preferred than roads as they can give us a greater sense of satisfaction. Lately, trains have been supplemented with advanced technologies, which lets people enjoy their moments. For example, I could read books online and have a drink without spilling it on a smooth-running Japanese express train.

The alternatives to railways such as roads would be further less productive. Firstly, developing more roads will be followed by the massive congestion. In terms of overpopulation, I doubt that joining the traffic in rush hours would certainly be everyone's biggest nuisance. Secondly, due to increasing use of roads, we will all have to pay a larger amount of tax and this is an insufficient funding for the constructions of more highways, overpasses and parking lots. That is why I believe, however, rail service price is simple and convenient. Eventually, our health would be at risk by emissions of CO2 from various vehicles on the roads, but this problem will be mitigated as for the fact that trains are fewer and environmentally friendly.

In conclusion, while driving on roads may be preferred by a number of people, it appears to me that road building is not a pressing need for the government to budget for. However, as long as nation invests smartly in railroads, our greater future prosperity will certainly be secured.