The issue whether academic success and emotional development are affected by teachers or classmates

Many things can influence the academic achievement and emotional growth of a student.

In this regard, peers have more of an impact than teachers do. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, whether academic success and emotional development are affected by teachers or classmates is a subject of discussion. Although a number of people are in favor of considering teachers to have a greater impact on students' performances, I firmly believe that peers are more influential than teachers.

To begin with, it is clear that since motivated by competing with other classmates, a student can achieve academic success. To be more specific, pupils have a desire to outperform peers, as demonstrating broader knowledge and high score achievements. This affects the improvements of not only students' self-study skills but also their efforts in better performances. According to recent surveys, a number of undergraduates stated that they have more motivation to study in which challenging themselves to compete with other classmates plays a vital role rather than requirements from the teachers. These surveys offer strong evidence to prove that classmates place significant effects on students' academic achievement.

On top of that, having relationships with other classmates helps expand students' social circle, which means placing impacts on their emotional development. Pupils spend most of their time with classmates at school in which they share new ideas, beliefs, and experiences with others. Developing good relationships with friends allows pupils to learn how to control and express their emotions as well as the right way of behavior. One study has shown that undergraduates perform better management of emotional expression by cooperating and interacting with peers. This illustrates that relationships with classmates are essential for juniors with regard to emotional development.

Overall, classmates play an essential role in motivating undergraduates to enhance their knowledge and control their emotional expressions. For these reasons, it is obvious that peers have more effects on students' academic achievement and emotional growth.