GRE issue task : Nation should operate similar curriculum for its schoolchildren

A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

National curriculum may stand as a nation pathway to gain standardization. However, the implementation is not merely surrounded by benefit, as the case of uniqueness on education is still challenging. I too agree that while a nation should have a standard of education, the exception of some cases have to ponder too.

Studying in same national curriculum until college, a pathway of developing standard is built. In general, national curriculum is just element of education in every child which provides the outline core knowledge around teacher to help student gain a similar of educational achievement. Then, if it is well implemented, students are helped a lot in their undergraduate owing to sophisticated base that is taken by their nation. Despite the higher acknowledgement of western education, a tangible example in ASEAN can be seen in Singapore national curriculum. School graduates from Singapore can easily continue their undergraduate in US without any matriculation while another ASEAN school graduated should do. This then proofs that primary to high school national curriculum has taken its function appropriately.

On the other hand, in the case of indigenous education, curriculum similarity could not be accepted. Taking examples on disable learner cases, they need adaptation either in the curriculum material or in the educational infrastructure, blind students need braille textbook with special teacher, the deaf need more that sound system in language laboratory and students with paralytic illness need special material in sports. Due to those cases, what if the similar national curriculum for schoolchildren is strictly operated? Could they get similar opportunity like the other schoolchildren?

In conclusion, applying same national curriculum for elementary to high school elementary would appropriately guide student to get the similar expertise. However, some cases of student with disabilities have to highly consider too.