Issue about General Welfare/ SUREST INDICATOR OF A GREAT NATION

Here is the topic and my answer. Thank you for the feedback... by the way , I like this website

topic :The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general welfare of all its people.

What is a great nation? Different people have different definitions. In my view, I agree with the idea that we should fight for the general welfare of all human beings. However, this is not to say we can ignore the importance of rulers, artists and scientist.

The society consists by people and it is people who make the big "machine" of society works well. We cannot live without these ordinary people. No matter how ordinary one is, he can contribute his energy to the nation. We can do a math -how gigantic the energy will be if millions of ordinary people accumulate? The bus drivers who bring convenience to us, the cleaners make our cities more beautiful, the teachers dedicate their life to the education to pass the knowledge to our next generation. They are all ordinary people .But no one can say these average people are not valuable compared with rulers, artists and scientists. It is hard to judge .To this extent, it is necessary to pursue the welfare of all its people for everyone is equal.

Also, taking care of every civilian's benefit is the precondition of nation's stability. If the nation only puts its eyes on the minority like rulers, artists and scientists, it would cause complainant from the people. Then how can a society be safe with the atmosphere of dissatisfaction about unjust? For example, in the 1960s, America had a serious problem with racism. Black people at that time had little justified rights in everyday live. They had no right to go to school, to vote, even to do business. The whole society's scale is not balance. Naturally something must to be done to change this situation. Truly, black people organized automatically to demonstrate and spoke out their voice to the government. The most famous motivation was leaded by Martin Luther King. Until now his speech "I have a dream" still echo in the air of our society to remind us the importance of equality and general welfare. It is hard to imagine what would happen if the government did not compromise at that time. Nation as a whole would collapse if we put majority goods to serve minority people .The result will be like the affair aforementioned which happened in 1960s in US.

At the same time, we should see the rulers, artists, and scientists can help to make the nation better. Rulers can help the society to enact reasonable laws which help the nation to uphold its principles and justice. Like Roosevelt's New Policy in the 1930s,it pulled out people from the sorrow of Great Depression and made the economy come back to the normal way . Artists can create the beauty for society like creating the paintings which reflect the livings in countryside to give the people living in modern cities a chance to feel the wonderful scenes of villages. Without scientists, the world would lose its color. Imagine how many discoveries and inventions had made us so exciting. Because of the developed transportation system, we can now go to any corner of the world in one day. Because of the Internet, we now can communicate much more convenient than before .We can talk with each other at any time in any place if we have Internet. Also, the electric, the nuclear plant, the medicine to cure severe diseases, all of these things has changed our lives forever. Though rulers, artists and scientists are only minority in the society, their achievements really have changed the society more compared with others. In some degree, they can show the nation's value and power of influence. We cannot ignore their achievements to the nation.

In conclusion, it is nation's responsibility to achieve the welfare for all people. This is the final goal of a nation. However, in generalization, the rulers, scientist and artist are also people .This final goal essentially does not harm their benefits. Furthermore, it is unfit to ignore their contribution. Their contribution can help the nation to achieve the final goal more quickly.