TV Vs. Literature. GRE Analyze an Issue
"Television and videos are going to leave a more lasting and valid perception of our society to future generations than is literature."
Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the previous
statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In
developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which
the statement may or may not hold true and explain how those considerations
shape your position.
Throughout history, humankind has written and recorded in various ways what
happened throughout time. However, as time passed on, our perception of what
was recorded changes due to many reasons. Some media are, however, more
capable of creating a solid perception than others.
It cannot be denied that TV and Videos, as well as written literature, both
have shaped our perceptions of what the past was, and what the present is.
Events and the way of life centuries ago have been recapitualted by great
writers and thinkers and immortalized in ink and paper, at a time when
television and digital media did not exist. Without literature, it would
have been very difficult to understand how life was during the times when
there was no electricity and none of the modern technology we beg. Without
literature, it may be difficult for the lay man to understand why social
traditions were the way they had been enacted in the past.
However, despite the fact that literature gives us an account of what the
past was like enables us to perceive past societies, the diurnal activities,
the superstitions, the practices etc. , Literautre can give us a jaundiced
perception of what the past was like. Whenever we read written accounts, our
exegesis of the account differs from person to person, because it is very
rare that two human beings think exactly alike. As such, how we perceive the
society of the past is very subjective. Given the caprice of human
imagination, that perceived image may vary from time to time, and thus
cannot be described as long lasting. And therefore, literauture may fail to
provide us with a lasting and valid perception of society. By extending this
argument into the future, it may very well be possible that whatever written
account writers and thinkers provide of the present society may be
interpreted in different ways by people in the future.
Television and video, on the other hand, are capable of displaying what
exactly what happens. As such, unlike writing, one does not require
imagination to understand and perceive what television and video describe
through a series of images. The risk of distortion is minimized because
videos and physical images, unlike our minds, are not capricious, but remain
constant. And hence can remain as a more valid account of what it recorded,
and therefore give us a truer account of the present in the future. Since
an intact and uadultereated description can be given by television and
videos, it can supersede literature in terms of creating a lasting and more
valid perception of the future.