Malaysia, Philippines, USA - Biography essay... am I on the right track?

Bio Essay:We are interested in learning more about you and the context in which you have grown up, formed your aspirations and accomplished your academic successes. Please describe the factors and challenges that have most shaped your personal life and aspirations. How have these factors caused you to grow?

This may come as no surprise to you, but as a young child, I was careless and ignorant-- careless of others' opinions and thoughts of me, careless of all the consequences that entails my poor judgments and actions, and above all, careless of the general world around me. In Malaysia, I lived life in a comfortable bubble. People had neither intentions nor chance of breaking this comfortable style of living for me. I was ungratefully spoiled, lazy, and inconsiderate. I took advantage of those who loved me and looked down upon those not worthy of my attention. From what I remember, my wake up call was finally placed soon after my migration to the United States. Then, I was quickly thrusted into a world where I did not stand on top, nor could I act like I did. Having lived life in the ignorant and rudimentary manner I did during my early childhood has done nothing short of reminding me everyday, nowadays, the importance and the necessity for me to become a better person in all aspects of life.

I had lived in the Philippines for almost ten years of my life since I was born. My parents did not come from wealthy backgrounds. Both my father and mother began their work career just about the time they learned how to do solve simple multiplication problems. As if the stress of raising their own family wasn't enough, both sides of my parent's family also relied heavily on their salaries and offerings. As a result, my parents were eventually forced to sacrifice living with my sister and me and embarked on their journey to America to fulfill their American dream.

While my parents suffered in the US from the long-hours and brutal demands of their jobs, I lived vicariously in the Philippines, squandering my parent's hard-earned money on wasteful spending and investments. I was never particularly special in any school subjects, or any activities, and definitely did not appreciate nor put the time and effort into working to improve my lacking skills. Yet, my parents never ceased to fund my piano lessons, private Catholic school tuition fees, and various recreational activities. Throughout this whole time, not once did I stop and think of all the wastefulness I have been doing. Not once did I think to work harder at playing the piano or focusing on schoolwork. Not once did I consider what life was like for my parents, separated from their children in a foreign land. Not once did I consider changing my awful behavior to benefit both myself, and others. As you can understand, I did not grow up with much guidance; parents were about 8500 miles away, and my grandparents, who were raising us, lacked the authority to raise us in a strict and proper manner.

This all changed when I finally moved to America. My parents were overjoyed, as was I. The whole situation was just perfect. We did not enjoy a particularly comfortable standard of living in our small apartment on the fourth floor of an elevator-less building, nor did we have much money saved up, but we were together. The love and care that my parents have demonstrated to me, finally, in person, made me realize just how important I was to them. It also raised my awareness for just how much of a waste-of money, time, and intention-I have spent my life. Nothing inspired me to be a better me than the when began to live with my parents, to see how they were life was like for them, to experience their hardships - both economically and socially - with them, to realize the importance of hard-work, to feel the greatness of affection, consideration, and love. From those moments on, I then decided to change my life. I knew that I had to study hard to succeed. Education is the key that can open doors to multitudes of opportunities-opportunities that I sought tirelessly to acquire. At the same time, I also realized the importance of a great relationship. Just as much as I value education, I knew that nothing good or productive can done without great connection. Though at first our cultural, social, and language difference became a barrier between the American kids and me, I strongly defied this challenge - a challenge which left me many lonely days in isolation from crowd that I admired so much to be a part of - and decided to change my attitude and personality in life. I no longer wanted followers, or anyone whom liked me just for materials I offer. I yearned for something different: for genuine friends, sincere relationships, and real happiness.

These changes in my life have given me nothing but pride, comfort, and happiness to call myself [my name].