Male to Female ration in University admissions

Topic:

"Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?"

Please help me revise the below essay.

Thank you very much for your help.

Mary

In recent years, the number of female students entering the universities has increased a lot than previous years. At the same time, the higher educational levels make it easier for women to find employment. In my view, I totally disagree with the statement above.

To start with, candidates should be accepted by universities according to their performance in senior high school. If universities hold a one-side view to balance the number of gender group without considering their performance, it is no doubt that student who is not interested in the subject will not study hard which may bring the declining teaching quality.

Secondly, in some particular courses, male students have more interests than female students because of the gender characteristics. For example, the number of female students chosen psychology or pedagogy is generally higher than male students. On the contrary, more male students show their interests in engineering and bioinformatics than female students. If universities enroll the same number of male and female in a particular subject which male students prefers, some female students will study the subject without any passions.

However, there are some advantages if universities accept the equal number of male and female students. First of all, in the class, male and female students can complementary gender characteristics, learn from each other, and exchange different ideas when doing a project with two or three of different gender group. In addition, it can increase their ability of communication with different gender people. It is really helpful to fix the idea contradictions between male and female in their future work.

In conclusion, I completely believe that candidates should be accepted by universities based on their previous performance, personal characteristic and interests, rather than according to gender.