The methodology of interacting with individuals have changed through time

IELTS Book 8 Wrting Task 2 Test 2

Question:

Nowadays the way people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or a negative development?

Answer:

Yes, with the reference to the present technology, the methodology of interacting with individuals have changed through time. It has both positive and negative influence on the kinds of relationships people create these days.

Decades back when communicative devices were not invented, people used to communicate with each other by writing letters from one place to another. In some cases, if the letter had to be dropped to far away lands, it would take few days or weeks or even a month or two. Presently, an individual's access to other people has extended widely all due to the flourishing technology. Firstly, the innovative gadgets have effortlessly made it easier for people to interact with others residing on any nook and corner of the globe which has given ways of perceiving each other's cultural disparity. Secondly, there are several social networking sites and applications such as Facebook, Instagram, WeChat, etc which has enabled people to make new friends anytime. Finally, technology has fostered the efficiency of people who are involved in specific businesses. Internet has become a magnificent source of advertising their products and also in gaining online customers. For an instance, many entrepreneurs have been successful in attracting their products to the customers by using their expertise in maintaining professional relationships with customers via internet such as "Daraz" i.e an online shopping application.

On the contrary, it is depressing to note that people have started urging for validation from social networking sites. Their level of happiness has solely become dependent upon the number of likes and comments they acquire on their posted pictures or videos. Moreover, people are connected to millions of users across the globe but virtual interactions cannot justify the significance of a real conversation. While, scrolling down to the list of hundreds of friends, there may be very limited amount of people to whom an individual looks up to in the real world. People's negligence of their surrounding loved ones due to their obsessiveness to technology has been realized these days. Furthermore, chances of scams and fraudulent accounts are very high which might make people fall under heinous cyber crimes all because of trusting a deceitful account.

Thus, technology have had both positive as well as negative enhancement to the kinds of relationships people make these days.