In the modern world, there is a movement away from written exams to more practical assessment

Submitted by tan1010pro on Thu, 02/20/2020 - 07:13

Which band score will i get ? thank you

the best way of assessing students

In recent year, people have changed the method of evaluating from a written exams into practical assessment. This tendency has it's own benefits and drawbacks.

On the one hand, There are a lot of advantages that practical test may bring about. Firstly, This kind of test will be able to evaluate the real ability of students because it reflect how much efforts did student try to complete the assignments . Whereas, It is not very difficult for The students to cheat on the paper based exams. As a result they can get a flying color mark without studying. Secondly, A assessment method containing interviews, group work, presentation help students to significantly enhance their soft skills. For example, a presentation helps people to become confident when he or she talks in front of people.

On the other hand, This tendency may bring about some drawbacks. Practical exam requires an well domestic finances to spend on a number of important equipment. In particular, It totally takes a drastic payment for a country to purchase a great deal of computers. It means that it's nearly impossible for developing countries to perform this kind of test. Another negative aspect of this trend is that it require a high qualified teacher. In contrast with the traditional exams which have a clear answer keys to help examiner get easier to mark their students. The teacher may encounter with more difficulties in giving an accurate band score for the performance of candidates.

In conclusion, performing a practical exam can be advantageous by reflecting exactly the ability of student and giving them more opportunities to enhance their essential skills and disadvantageous because it require a great deal of money and really professional teachers.