IELTS - Movies or Books? Which is beneficial for a child's development?

Please check languages, structures and give the comments. Thanks

Movies or Books? Which is beneficial for a child's development?

Give your opinion.

The development of children is one of top concerns of every parents. Some people said that child approaching movies is the best choice, while others said books is better. I would argue that books is beneficial for a child's development than movies regarding mental development, academic development, and verbal development.

First of all, one of the major beneficial books affecting a child's development is the mental development. Books can let children have a more of an imagination when reading. There is only the description used in the text which allows them to create an image in their head of what the characters look like and their facial expressions. When watching a movie, however, children see what the director wants them to see, and they hear the voices through the actor's interpretation of their lines. Moreover, when you are watching a movie, it is very easy to get distracted by music of sounds and multiple tasks, but when reading a book, it usually has a child's full attention.

Another vantage point of books is over movies in terms of academic development of a child in the future when reading books. By dint of reading books, children will improve their writing skills better. As they read, they learn subconsciously how to mold plots, create speech patterns, and make realistic characters. Furthermore, children are capable of gaining stronger analytical thinking skill. While reading, children analyze details in hand, then they discuss the book with others, they will be able to state their opinions clearly. This skill can get by watching movies, but reading books help chilren develop more by critiquing the plot and determining whether it was a well-written piece.

Finally, with verbal development, books tend to gain more favourable than movies. Books are able to help children increase more vocabularies and syntax. Reading forces us to look at words that we might not have seen or heard recently at the pub. It helps you learn to spell words , lets you understand the meaning of words and structures and how to use them. On the other hand, watching movies only help children with speaking skills, and even more, there are many bad words in movies. In fact, language in children's books are likely to be more sophisticated than your average conversation. In short, reading books is also vital for learning languages of a child.

In summary, books are really indispensable parts of a child's development.