[IELTS TASK 2]THE NEGATIVE EFFECTS ON THE SOCIETY WHEN THE PROPORTION OF OLDER PEOPLE IS INCREASING

Impacts of Aging Societies

It is true to say that a number of senior citizens which is growing faster, has grabbed the attention in many parts of the world. While some people argue that a phenomenon impacts positively, but I think it has negative consequences on their societies.

Firstly, some countries have struggled with the shortage of workers, especially in manual works. This will greatly affect the economy of countries in the long-term. This can be explained by some job requirements for certain careers that the elderly not be suitable for, such as health condition, a great resilience or creativity. As a result, in Japan and Europe, governments must adopt policies to attract foreign workers so-called importing workers. This has led to various disadvantages as well, one of that is immigration will make society insecure.

Secondly, the growing of aging population put huge pressure on state subsidies, including retirement houses and medical services. In fact, these funds will certainly come from the working population may result in a great tax burden on working adults. Medical care, for instance, older people are more liable to diseases and disabilities realating to age, it is undeniable that the demand for health-care facilities will rise and modernize.

In conclusion, although I am concerned about the positive trends,I would believe that this tendency would have negative effects if it is not noticed legitimately.