Too many people have their own vehicle - a lot of cars means problem with traffic and pollution

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays, there are many people that are already have vehicles because of its low prices and credit payment method that often offered. As a result of that, many traffic congestions occur almost every day especially in some metropolitan city. Moreover, cars and motorcycles also produce harmful smoke that create greenhouse gases effect even human respiration system disease. To solve that, some people say that the best way is by boosting the fare. However, in my opinion I totally disagree about that, because there are others indicators that more influenced.

In the recent years, fossil fuel had already become one of human primary need. It is proven by data from Statistical Center Department, Indonesia shows that almost 75 percent of Indonesia's inhabitants have their own both four-wheel and two-wheel drive. So, we can conclude that the role of public and private transportation today is extremely important for doing many daily activities. In the past, Indonesia had an experience when the officials decided to raise the oil price, and it made many resident protest, demonstrated, and finally government reduced it until back to the normal price. With that kind of the accident in the past, it can be seen that increasing petrol price will bring many drawbacks and it does not have any effect for reducing traffic crowded and pollution problem.

So, I think there are two solutions that will be fix that difficulties. First, to solve street crowd, administration should provide and upgrade the public transportation to be more convenient. For instance, in many developed countries, they usually have comfortable transportation system that can effectively decrease the traffic problems. Second, to conquer pollution, government must be doing conversion energy project seriously. For example, in my country, it already invented many kind of electricity motor and cars, but it unsupported by facilities such as electric station, massive production, even the project finally ended up with unknown reason. Society also can convert their fuel from solar and premium into pertamax, even though more expensive but has smaller number of octant that produce less-pollutant gas.

To sum up, the rising price of fossil fuels will not bring any effect to traffic congestion and global warming, because that oil already become people's daily needs. So, public transport and energy conversion are more reasonable compared with the previous solution.