Physics - CBEST Writing - describe one class which you faced difficulty

Hello all! Thank you for taking the time to read my post and please give me some advice/ suggestion about my writing! :)

trouble in a class

Writing Topic: Most students have had some type of difficulty in one course or another. In an essay to be read by an audience of educated adults, identify one class in which you faced difficulty as either a student or as a teacher, describe the difficulty, and how you handled the situation.

Imagine when you set in a room for an hour and the teacher looks like in a slow-motion movie that making speaking voice, but you hardly understand the abstract lines on the whiteboard. That is how I felt in my first physic class during my freshman year.

At that time, it was my first year of studying in the United States. Frankly, I was overwhelmed by learning the new concepts and extending my English skills at the same time. Indeed, my physics class gave me a head-on blow during the first week of the school. Well, not too much to blame on my teacher, just myself felt like I was sunk in the physic ocean but hardly to absorb any. I could not activate my prior knowledge or make connections to the lesson.

However, I cannot just give up without trying. I felt really embarrassed to talk to my professor about my situation because in my culture, is not normal to ask for help. My professor did give me some learning tips about the topic that we learned and allowed me to use a physical dictionary during the test. But still, I need more "magic spells" to crush this course.

Therefore, I started to look into mandarin physics' book to use my first language to help me re-learn the concepts. And link the concepts with the English expression that we used in the classroom. It does take extra learning time for me, but once I felt I started to understand the lecture, I became more engaged in the lesson as well as felt encouraged in the learning process. At the end of that class, I was safely passed my tests. Although I did not crush it perfectly, it stills a satisfied and memorable learning experience for me.