TOEFL Essay "read only factual books or not.."

13. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People should read only those books that are about real events, real people, and established facts. Use specific reasons and details to support your opinion.

Some people believe that reading imaginative and fanciful books have profound effects on their life. In my point of view, however, reading about real happenings, people and facts are more effective than previous one. I want to put emphasis on two striking reasons motivated me for holding such opinion. First is about life of famous people, and the second relates to what we can learn about real experiences.

Inventors, writers and other famous persons exist in every nation's history. Therefore, reading about them is such a considerable chance that one can learn many things amid the life of famous persons. As a concrete case in point, I have read a lot about the life of Thomas Edison, who is famous for inventing electricity. What I learn about his life is hard-working and trusts to myself despite of difficulties; these are the two fantastic characteristics of Edison that I personally follow in my life to struggle with troubles.

In the core of each events and facts lives a real lesson, so reading about them is a less-cost experience with lot of triumphs. Although reading fabulous tales and factious stories could improve our imagination, living in the real world needs real experiences. In addition, learning about others experiences without any risk is the other benefit of being familiar with real events occurred surrounding us. For example, I never walk in the way of John, who was my addicted roommate, in that I saw the result of this kind of hazardous activities, clearly, just be tracking a real event.

In conclusion, I think reading about real events, real people and established facts is a precious treasure that others give us freely. We have this opportunity to learn about famous people and the key point of their successfulness. Besides, learning about other people experiences such as how they should face with problems, is the result of reading the reality. Finally, we live in a real world and need reality instead of fancy.