An essay of IELTS task 2 about the reasons and effects of cosmetics

effects of products which lighten people's skin

In many parts of the world today, there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people's skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

Nowadays, cosmetics whitening and lightening skin of people are making huge profits for many companies and corporations. This essay will examine the causes why people use these kinds of products and evaluate their impacts on health and society.

The first principle reason for that fact is people's attitudes about skin color. The majority might be convinced that the whiter and lighter their skins are, the more attractive they become. Taking the Asian which have incident skins of yellow pigment as an example, they seem to overestimate the white bright skin and hence, their style of making up and the use of whitening cosmetics probably turn their appearances into ones similar to the Western. One another practical reason is from the celebrity. They almost turn up on the media with remarkable skins of white and light and their influences encourage people to buy beauty products.

In spite of the positive sides of these products such as improving the self-confidence of a person or stimulating the commercial, I suppose there are some negative effects on individual health and on society. Initially, these commodities might harm people when they get older on the ground that there is hardly an evidence to prove the safety of using them for a long period of time. Furthermore, they can adversely impact on society, driving people to misunderstand about beauty criteria. Every race has its own successive trait needing to be highly respected and the traditional values must be preserved at all cost.

In conclusion, it cannot be denied that whitening and lightening products fulfill the rational desire to some extent. However, all people should take cosmetics into account and interpret some of the severe consequences that they may face with if constantly using those for a long time.