A recent movement in education has been called "Back to Basics." Current curriculum controversy.

A recent movement in education has been called "Back to Basics." Its proponents argue that the curriculum should concentrate only on reading, writing, and mathematics skills and completely ignore such courses as sociology, art appreciation, and drama. Imagine that you are a school principal faced with the task of making policy for your school. Present your argument(s) either for or against "Back to Basics."

Current curriculum controversy

Recently, a journal published that high school graduation rate in California is around sixty percent. However, that of the U.S. is not near fifty percent over the country based on the statistics shown in the press. This shows students need to improve more studying skills in main subjects: English and mathematics. Therefore, I agree the movement "Back to Basics" for students' benefit.

To begin with, students can have deeper and wider knowledge based on fundamental foundations; reading, writing, and mathematics. Basic knowledge helps students expand their learning by applying it to more advanced study. If sixth grade students couldn't learn multiplication well, they accordingly have trouble with learning division, fraction and proportion. Kevin, 11th grade student, is preparing for taking SAT. He has difficulty with math part since he is not good at it. He hasn't liked math and hasn't been good at it since 2nd grade. Undoubtedly, he has had low grade in math since then. What if he practiced Arithmetic operations more? What if he loved number to add, subtract, multiply, and divide more? Apparently, it is that for him to practice SAT in math will be easier than now.

Secondly, there are a lot of Immigrant students in schools. As shown in study, many pupils from immigrant family couldn't be successful to their school work, hardly going to college. It proves that lack of fundamental knowledge hard to lead students to a successful future. As an immigrant graduate school student myself, I've always felt uncomfortable whenever I need to read, listen, and speak in English. How much more writing in English? Even I got high education, learning English over ten years, still I am not confident. Definitely, I could not get a well paid job due to my lack of fluency in communicating with people in English in the U.S. There are so many immigrants who serve a job in restaurants, gas stations, and body shops which don't need a high education diploma. If I were fluent in English, I am sure that I will have better life than now I have.

Thirdly, students study hard for having better future to enjoy their life. Suppose that someone can't read books well. This person might go to see a popular movie based on published best seller book but can't enjoy reading the book, understanding between the lines. Suppose that someone is in cashier job. If this one is not good at math, arithmetic operations, he or she might not like to go to work and be in stressful since the chance of making mistakes going around him or her always. Building up basic knowledge can strongly lead you to have a room for adding sociology, art appreciation, and drama.

In conclusion, "Back to Basics" is not old fashion movement but very essential for students' benefit. By building up the fundamental knowledge, students can have more advanced learning. Also, they can have better life to go to college or get a better occupation. Finally, they might enjoy sociology and appreciate art and drama. As Korean saying goes," The house built on the rock is way stronger than built on sand."