Reflection Paper about heroes - everybody wants to be a hero

Each and every day around us, there are those who need a hero but who is the hero and what is the right definition of heroism? Through weeks of discussing the concept of heroism, I discovered that the definition of heroism is relative: someone can be a hero from my perspective, but that person can be a villain from another perspective. However, all of the definitions agree on general principles of a hero so I can define the hero as a person who has courage and self-sacrifice and is willing to risk his life in order to help others regardless of the consequences. Heroes can be individuals or a group of people who does good deeds in order to serve their societies without the expectation of material gain.

Our world is full of injustice and darkness so there is a desperate need for heroes to make our world better. Some people misunderstand the concept of hero, they think that he or she is someone who has supernatural power, but that's wrong because a hero can be anyone of us. It doesn't matter having miraculous abilities, but it is all about having courage and determination to react properly in the right place and time. In Mark Doyle's article, "A Good Man in Rwanda," Capt Mbaye Diagne could help people as he can without having something unusual. He just harnesses his abilities in the right way to do virtue, but this makes him a hero because he saves people lives many times regardless of risking his life. To illustrate, I think that a great hero is the former Palestinian president Yasser Arafat. I admire him for his care of his people, his ability to stand up for what is right and just and his courage to face injustice. He was persistent on his goals and values until his last breath. Actually, both Diagne and Arafat have many similarities: both care about others more than care about themselves. For Diagne, he can go to any safe area as a Un peacekeeper and avoid going to a danger place like Rwanda that time. Also, Arafat was able to utilize his presidential privileges to gain his own interests like many presidents in our world, but both of them did not because they believe that helping others is far more important than achieving self-interests. Finally, if we see the way that both died, we discovered that both have been murdered while they are helping and refusing to give up on their principles: the militia had shot Diagne and Arafat had been poisoned. As a result, everyone who lives with Diagne thinks that he is a true hero as the same as what Palestinians and Arab world think about Arafat. Moreover, To come back to a point in the introduction about the relative concept of heroism using the same example of Yasser Arafat, on one hand, I said that Arafat is considered a hero by most of the Palestinians for his role in serving the Palestinian issue. On the other side, he is considered a villain by most of the Israelis because they think that he is an enemy to the Israeli state. Therefore, here is no clear definition of heroism because the definition varies depending on the time and the place.

Now, truth be told, we all want to be heroes. All of us want to make that difference and an impact in the life. When I think about my potential to be a hero in the future, I ask myself two questions: what will I impact and how is it important to having heroes. Then I am pretty sure of that the ultimate goal of every hero is to help others through his abilities and Specializations. Besides, heroes are doing good deeds which do not only benefit individuals but also the whole community. Actually, when we have enough number of heroes, that means we have a good chance to change the world and overcome that darkness in our world which leads to build a better future for the upcoming generations. To sum up, what people is required to be heroes is to focus on their strengths and overcome their weaknesses which mean that people have two choices: being a hero or a bystander. You have the choice!