TOEFL Writing:The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Strict rules for young generation

As far as I'm concerned, some conventional and even tradition rules in societies expect young generation to follow are too much for them.

In the first place, good kids means the student who have good performance and academic record in school when we're a teenager. When we're a student, what we hear most is that behaving well and working hard on studying are the only way to be successful. It seems like every kids have to be friendly with all people around us such as our family, our teacher and our fellows. These kind of rules are not regulations but it's the rigid impression of good kids to the society. Nevertheless, there are still many kids hating the rigid rules in school or behaving negatively about just sitting in the classroom and learning something they're not interested in. The teenager phase is supposed to be the most potential period for every kids to seek for their interest or advantage, and try to develop them as soon as possible, so the people should stop imposing some tradition view on the teenager.

Furthermore, a steady job with good welfare is the only perfect job for young. After graduating, more and more parents think that getting a offer from a big company with reputation or getting a job is relatively steady is the perfect future for young people. If our job is too unsteady, which don't have so much time to take a rest and accompany with our family, or if our salary is too low, it seems like we're not working hard for ourselves, and we'll end up living with an unhappy life. The truth is that there are so many young people don't even clear about their destination of future career after graduating, and we need time to adjust our plan for future or try something new in the first place. All the exploration and personal thinking about our future career seems meaning nothing in this society. If someone ask our job, and we answer something like a writer or a salesperson, the people will clarify us in "day-dreamer" and "another young with low salary". But if those are just their temporary decision or even an ideal job, I think they will be the optimized choice for those people.

Last but not least, getting married and having a child before 30-year-old or being judged. The situation of our marriage, the condition of our partner, the children's growth and so forth are something easily to be judged by the society. Being with someone and build a family are supposed to be something private and personal, but the economic condition of our partner and the decision just between the married people like having a child are always discussed by others. Married too late, having a partner with unsteady or low-paid job, having no kids are something against the norm in society, and if we have one of them in our marriage, this marriage may be considered as an incomplete or even failed one.

In sum, every different phases of young generation are having different kinds of potential rules needed to be followed to avoid for the society judgement, and it's too strict and unnecessary in this world because young have their right to be free to live.