The Saluda hospital - Advice for my GRE argument

Here is my GRE argment essay. Please make suggestions about its structure and language. Thanks in advance.

ARGUMENT203 - The following appeared in a newspaper feature story.

"At the small, nonprofit hospital in the town of Saluda, the average length of a patient's stay is two days; at the large, for-profit hospital in the nearby city of Megaville, the average patient stay is six days. Also, the cure rate among patients in the Saluda hospital is about twice that of the Megaville hospital. The Saluda hospital has more employees per patient than the hospital in Megaville, and there are few complaints about service at the local hospital. Such data indicate that treatment in smaller, nonprofit hospitals is more economical and of better quality than treatment in larger, for-profit hospitals."

The arguer suggested that treatment in smaller, nonprofit hospitals is more economical and of better quality than that in larger, for-profit hospitals. In order to draw this conclusion, a comparison between two hospitals was provided. One is a nonprofit hospital in Saluda and the other is for-profit hospital in the nearby city of Megaville. Patient's average stay time in the nonprofit hospital is shorter than the other; in addition, the cure rate in nonprofit hospital is twice of the for-profit one. While all these facts seem to prove that the first one is better than the latter, a deep reflection on this argument will point out several flaws that undermine this conclusion.

First, the shorter average stay cannot indicate a better medical service. On the contrary, it is probably resulted from the poorer accommodation; furthermore, patients may leave this nonprofit hospital because it cannot cure their diseases, and maybe they leave for the for-profit hospital. More importantly, the different performance between the two hospitals, i.e. fewer complaints and higher cure rate in the nonprofit hospital, is very possible because they are of different classifications and so they have different types of patients. For example, the nonprofit hospital may aim at common illness like cough and flu, so its patients recover easily and quickly; the for-profit hospital, as stated in the argument, is a large one, so it is more likely to have patients with complex and rare diseases like cancer or TB, thus no wonder it cures less patients and need longer time to do so.

Secondly, the assertion that the nonprofit hospital in Saluda is more economical than the for-profit one in Megaville stands on no obvious evidence. Conversely, it is more likely that the for-profit one is more economical as the arguer pointed out that the Saluda hospital has more employees per patient, so perhaps for each patient more money was paid. Meanwhile, the revenue of a for-profit hospital is directly linked to its efficiency and service, so the assertion--the for-profit hospital is less economical and poorer in service--is very suspicious.

Finally, even if the conditions of these two hospitals are identical in every aspect except that one is nonprofit and the other is for-profit, the conclusion expanded this single case to all other hospitals too arbitrarily. This is only one case happened in a specific place, other areas have different economic and cultural conditions. For instance, in developing countries, local governments or even states can hardly support non-profit hospitals, then how can we expect non-profit hospitals offer better service in these areas?

In sum, the arguer's claim is not convincing without qualifications and further evidence. To make the conclusion more credible, the arguer should limit it in certain places and provide more direct evidence to prove non-profit hospitals' better service and economical performance. By the way, if explanations on why non-profit hospitals can be both more economical and of better quality are presented, the argument can be a truly authentic one.